Thursday, October 24, 2013

Just chugging along. Some days are better than others.

I'll start with my carb-cycling. I hit 10 pounds of weight loss twice. Had a week with a little bounce back up. That was also a high carb week. Not much cardio in the exercise program. Too lazy. Too easy to find excuses not to go outside and walk. Don't have high hopes for a lower number at the next weigh-in on Saturday. I gave in to too many temptations yesterday. Bad bad bad. However, I have been doing my Leslie Sansone videos, just the one and two mile workouts. I met with my new doctor last week. I really like her. She thinks my target should be between 150 and 155 pounds. I was thinking closer to 140. I'll shoot for her recommendation by the end of school and see how it feels. I'm almost done with week 10. Except for the morning I was having blood work done, I haven't missed any of the 9 minute strength training sessions. Just not sure what to do with the holidays. Should I keep carb-cycling? Do I trust myself to practice portion control? Instead of low carb and high carb days, should I focus on having a protein, carb and fat at each meal like in the Game On! diet? Should I continue the 9 minute missions and Leslie videos? I have 2 Jillian Michael 30 day videos. Should I do one in Nov. and the other in Dec.? Carb-cycling will take me to Nov 10th. My parents will be here for 3 days over Thanksgiving, should I take a break those few days? I also have JM's Body Revolution. That's a 90 day program. I think I'll do that in Jan. Decisions. Decisions. I just know it's so easy for me to fall back into bad eating habits. Like yesterday!

The Mt. Vernon stuff is going a little slow. The future bathroom is finally done. I have moved towards Card's room. I did get all the stickers off the door that the previous owners' kids had put on. The only thing I haven't finished with that is the sticky stuff from the foam stickers on the back of the door. I used nail polish remover and vinegar on the regular stickers. I googled solutions. Suggestions included vegetable oil, peanut butter and Goo Gone. I guess I've been putting it off because it sounds like it's going to get messier before it gets cleaner.

Having trouble getting a routine in place. Sometimes I just don't feel like doing what I need to do. So I don't and then things pile up and then I'm overwhelmed and so nothing gets done! In a feeble effort to work on that this week, I've using my timer. 15 minutes on this, 15 minutes on that, 15 more minutes on something else. With this, I did manage to get Trixie's clothes organized again. I still haven't put any toys in her room. Somehow, her room is still a disaster. She did get some birthday presents, but I just can't figure out how her room can look like it does. However, with no toys currently in the closet, the boxes on the little shelf unit in there have become a place for t-shirts and extra hangers. Not all the boxes. Just 1 big one for shirts and a little one for hangers. The pile of her stuff I had in the hall in the basement, Doc made her move into the toy room. This was right after the neighbor gave us 2 dressers from his daughter's room. What a disaster! I think I can sort and store Trixie's stuff in the dressers, instead of her room. The problem is the overwhelming piles of stuff. With my 15 minute timer this week, I moved the dressers to the wall and I cleaned out the drawers of the dresser that we've had in the toy room for years. It did have some school stuff in there from last year. Now it has small games and puzzles. There is a science drawer for Dash. I just need to finish cleaning off the top of that dresser. Then I'll start sorting the big totes and assign categories. Then I can move on to the boxes of stuff from Trixie's room. I think there is a bunch of craft stuff in there, too. My baby chest that I've had since I was a baby held school and craft stuff in the last house. It's in the garage right now because it needs a little repair. Doc just hasn't gotten around to it yet. If I can get that in the house sooner than later, I can put that in the hall outside the toy room to hold craft items. Overwhelming......but hopefully doable.....15 minutes at a time. We got two chunks of money recently so I think Doc is going to work on the new bathroom first. I think there may be enough money to finish the toy room (walls, floor, ceiling). I need to get it organized so that project will be easier. Hopefully we can get the rest of the basement flooring in. The library will be really fun with 10 full bookcases that will have to be moved. It will probably be 11 or 12 bookcases by the time we get to that point. I have books stacked on the floor already. Just so hard to focus on one thing when so many things need attention. I'll keep the toy room close to the top of the list as Doc could at any moment just go in there and pitch everything. I do agree that some of it needs to go, but........15 minutes at a time......diligently!